Social Media

A few months ago, I decided to delete my Facebook account.  Facebook, of course, said, “Don’t worry; we’ll keep all of your information in case you come back.”  I have debated returning for two reasons:  one, I would return, delete all of my information–pictures, personal information–then delete my account again; or, two, remove all “friends” I don’t want and make the account more of a professional connection.  I would also remove all of the pages I created and no longer maintained.

I originally resisted the professional page on Facebook for several reasons.  First of all, several relatives and other people I don’t want as “friends” have insisted on trying to connect.  Since I do have to meet these people occasionally, I don’t want to tick them off.  The constant updates to the Facebook program were irritating, and I constantly redid my privacy controls.

Also, the home page status updates drove me crazy.  I don’t really want to hear about the majority of people’s lives.  I would prefer to read updates from groups only–and I might not even want those.  I do and don’t want people to know what movies or products I like.  Basically, I think if I removed all of the friends I didn’t want, all I would have on my home screen is ads.

I hated receiving a glut of emails from the program.  I don’t care about status updates.  I felt the information thrown at me was of tertiary significance at best.  However, since I left Facebook, I realized how many organizations in my area don’t have websites with regular updates.  I missed a few auditions and concerts.  I also miss reading some of the fan pages.

Because many of these issues can be remedied by editing my page, I am considering returning to the site.  Also, I tried Linkedin for the second time, and I find it to be an even more useless business page.  At the very least, I could keep Facebook as a semi-professional page.

I have noticed people–especially younger people–moving away from Facebook.  Other social media sites are becoming more dominant, and, as social media, I prefer other sites to Facebook.  However, I also dislike placing my personal information–even the amount I would allow on Facebook–on other sites.  I like keeping these sites semi-anonymous.

The question then becomes, is it worth it to have a Facebook account if I don’t want to link it to what I am really doing on the Web?  So far, the answer still seems to be “no”–with shades of grey.

Leave a Reply

