frustrating myself

Every time I talk about procrastinating, my boyfriend reminds me, “Procrastination is like masturbation.  In the end, you’re only screwing yourself.”  While it is true, a constant lack of completion despite working on projects can make working difficult.  See the gif below for my current state.  I have a short essay due tomorrow in a class where I feel I am constantly on the cusp of being behind.  I also have over 200 videos to analyze for my thesis, and I have to make sure my partner reviews them, too.  I haven’t balanced my checkbook in almost four months, and I may say “forget it.  I’ll start over with the bank’s numbers,” because the balance is so off.

bangyourhead

I decided I need to finish booking my Australia trip in order to cross it off the list.  I have other things to do, but it’s getting to the zero hour for booking.  I can write my ethnomusicology review after.

Also, I have decided pursuing a PhD in ethnomusicology isn’t for me.  While I love foreign places and music, I think spending another three or four years in school is something I do not want to do.  I want to see the world.  Maybe after I work for a few more years I will go back to school for a PhD in one of my areas of interest, but right now, I need a break.  I would also like to be financially independent.

Leave a Reply

